Well, I think I shot myself in the foot. Or rather, the leg.

It all started Monday, when I decided to delay my long run by two days so I could play soccer Monday night. I reasoned that I’d be fully recovered from soccer by Thursday, when I was scheduled for a 17-miler.

Turns out I wasn’t able to do that. I was so sore from Monday’s match that I skipped Tuesday and Wednesday’s runs (to be fair, the rain had a bit to do with it as well). With that in mind, it was perhaps inevitable that I’d suffer a little adversity during Thursday’s long run.

I hit a wall near Seward Park. I felt a twinge in the right leg that required me to slow down significantly, then to walk. In the end, I walk-jogged (wogged?) the seven miles home.

A bad run in all, but the training continues. I took Friday off and had good runs on Saturday and Sunday.

Image

Seattle’s Seward Park

Why I’m Running:

I want to raise enough money to sponsor two promising African ladies: Elaine and Mandisa.  It costs $80 so sponsor Mandisa for one month of Imagine Scholar costs — this amount pays for her transport, healthy food in class, school supplies, and many other things. For Elaine, it’s $78. Lump those two together and you get $156/month. Multiply that out my 12 months and you get a very achievable fundraising goal: $1,896. Please donate at my Crowdrise page here:

http://www.crowdrise.com/runandyrun

Weekly Statistics:

Miles run: 30.7 (266.38 total)

Average speed this week: 5.4 MPH (okay)

Calories burned: 4,507 (38,627 total)

