It’s important to listen to your body, they say. My body told me not to play soccer anymore–or at least until I’m finished up with this here marathon.

I’m hoping that last week’s misstep was just a blip on the radar because of playing soccer, because I felt a lot better this week. My times were good, my quad healed up quickly, and I was able to get back out on the road. It was actually a really good week, which was excellent for my personal confidence after such a tough go of it last week.

On a non-running note, I’ve been taking my camera out and snapping a few photos of the local area. Here’s one of Drumheller Fountain on the UW campus:

Drumheller on a cloudy autumn day

Why I’m Running:

I want to raise enough money to sponsor two promising African ladies: Elaine and Mandisa.  It costs $80 so sponsor Mandisa for one month of Imagine Scholar costs — this amount pays for her transport, healthy food in class, school supplies, and many other things. For Elaine, it’s $78. Lump those two together and you get $156/month. Multiply that out my 12 months and you get a very achievable fundraising goal: $1,896. Please donate at my Crowdrise page here:

http://www.crowdrise.com/runandyrun

Weekly Statistics:

Miles run: 24.59 (290.97 total)

Average speed this week: 6.0 MPH

Calories burned: 3,712 (42,338 total)

